Friday, February 5, 2010

Alice In Wonderland Soundtrack Review

If appealing to a mass audience was Disney's goal with Tim Burton's upcoming flick, Alice In Wonderland, then job well done. From the looks of it, this movie should be a hit with kids and adults alike. Who couldn't love a live action adaptation of the Lewis Carroll classic? But Disney one-uped itself by calling on an all-star cast of musicians for the movie's soundtrack.

Just check out some of the names - Mark Hoppus (blink-182), Pete Wentz (Fall Out Boy), Robert Smith (The Cure), Motion City Soundtrack, All Time Low and Franz Ferdinand just to name a few.

The CD, entitled Almost Alice, wastes no time letting its punk-rock roots show. The All-American Rejects grace the number two spot on the record with a soft, yet catchy, song entitled, "The Poison." Emo-pop swallows the remainder of the first half. Owl City adds a sugary little number, as bizarre, and yet as strangely infatuating as the Mad Hatter himself. All Time Low's "Painting Flowers" sounds surprisingly grown up, hinting that maybe this band can save itself from their bubblegum persona.

The second half of the record takes a dark turn with its opener, "Very Good Advice", performed by The Cure's Robert Smith. Its discordant verses and moody lyrics set the tone for what's to come. The Mark Hoppus/Pete Wentz collaboration entitled, "In Transit" boasts a haunting melody reminiscent of +44's "Weatherman." Further down the tracklisting, Motion City Soundtrack add the knockout punch. "Running Out Of Time" proves to be the catchiest song on the album, mixing melodic guitars with Tony Thaxton's signature drumming.

The record does fall flat in a few spots, though. Avril Lavigne's opener is a whirlwind of verses that work, and then choruses that are far too overstretched and whiny. Then there's Shinedown. Umm... enough said on that one.

Overall though, Almost Alice is a good record, especially seeing as it's a movie soundtrack. Usually you won't find something this fluid and fitting on any compilation.

You can check out clips from each song here, or on the sampler above. The record is due out on March 2, only three days before the movie hits theaters. I know I can't wait. In the meantime, take a look at the tracklisting below:

1. Avril Lavigne - "Alice (Underground)"
2. All-American Rejects - "The Poison"
3. Owl City - "The Technicolor Phase"
4. Shinedown - "Her Name Is Alice"
5. All Time Low - "Painting Flowers"
6. Metro Station - "Where's My Angel"
7. Tokio Hotel & Kerli - "Strange"
8. 3OH!3 featuring Neon Hitch - "Follow Me Down"
9. Robert Smith - "Very Good Advice"
10. Mark Hoppus & Pete Wentz - "In Transit"
11. Plain White T's - "Welcome To Mystery"
12. Kerli - "Tea Party"
13. Franz Ferdinand - "The Lobster Quadrille"
14. Motion City Soundtrack - "Running Out Of Time
15. Wolfmother - "Fell Down a Hole"
16. Grace Potter and the Nocturnals - "White Rabbit"

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...